SQLCLR vs. SQL Server 2017, Part 2: “CLR strict security” – Solution 1

(last updated: 2019-03-31 @ 16:30 EST / 2019-03-31 @ 20:30 UTC ) As mentioned in Part 1 of this "SQLCLR vs. SQL Server 2017" series, the new clr strict security server-level configuration option requires that in order to create any Assembly, even a SAFE one, it must be signed (by a Certificate or Strong Name… Continue reading SQLCLR vs. SQL Server 2017, Part 2: “CLR strict security” – Solution 1

SQLCLR vs. SQL Server 2017, Part 1: “CLR strict security” – The Problem

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugle̅e̅ (need to avoid copyright infringement ;-) ) (last updated: 2018-10-22 @ 10:40 EDT / 2018-10-22 @ 14:40 UTC ) SQL Server 2017 is soon to be officially released (i.e. RTM) and there are some impressive changes, with some being impressively good, and some being impressively bad. The Good… Continue reading SQLCLR vs. SQL Server 2017, Part 1: “CLR strict security” – The Problem